UC Davis

Resarch Areas

Optimization of Plant and Microbial Systems

Plants and Plant Systems Optimization

Goal: To identify plants with traits that are of particular utility in the production of biomass and bioenergy and to make use of genes and pathways identified in section 1 to optimize plants for roles as producers of sustainable energy.

Description: Plants are the factories through which enhancements in our capacity to sustainably produce biomass for the production of energy and other products will be realized. BERG will identify plant species with useful characteristics for efficiently producing, with ecologically sound and sustainable levels of inputs, the raw materials (lignocellulose, oils, starch etc.) that can be converted to bioenergy. Knowledge of developmental and metabolic processes (Section 1) will identify target genes and genetic variation that can be manipulated to accelerate the improvement of plants for production of raw biofuel and bioproduct materials. Optimal combinations of plant traits will be selected to maximize integration of each species into agricultural production and engineering systems designed for bioenergy production. Plant breeding will play a central role in this optimization process, providing a means to achieve selection gain for important quantitatively inherited traits that influence characteristics such as plant growth, architecture, productivity, and reproductive fitness in improved germplasm for commercial production. Genetic customization of plant species for maximal crop biomass production and bioconversion is key to increasing the overall efficiency of bioenergy generation.

Projects

Controlled In-Planta Expression of Lignocellulose Degrading Enzymes and Real Time Imaging of Plant Cell Walls

People

Pam Ronaldpcronald@ucdavis.eduWebsite
Bo Liubliu@ucdavis.eduWebsite
Alison Berryamberry@ucdavis.eduWebsite
Ravi Baraboterdbarabote@ucdavis.eduWebsite
Karen McDonaldkamcdonald@ucdavis.eduWebsite
Jean VanderGheynstjsvander@ucdavis.eduWebsite
J Clark Lagariasjclagarias@ucdavis.eduWebsite
John Labavitchjmlabavitch@ucdavis.edu
Oliver Fiehnofiehn@ucdavis.eduWebsite